Daily Archives: February 23, 2010

May These Gates Never Be Closed

Canada, like the rest of the world, is in the midst of serious Olympic fever. I’ve personally contributed to that fever by watching so much Olympics coverage that I now know the minutiae about things that never occurred to me to matter before now, such as the proper landing positions for the triple axel and the triple lutz, and the difference between the skeleton and the luge.

Really, Canada has every right to be uncharacteristically* Canadian during the 16 days in which Vancouver is hosting the Olympics; they have every right to be filled with glowing hearts. They are doing a fabulous job of managing the expectations of the world, even without snow…at the WINTER Olympics, to be sure.

There has been article after article, show after show, and video after video about the Games, but it wasn’t until I saw^ the video Tom Brokaw produced for NBC that I really took notice. The video apparently aired in British Columbia just prior to the start of the Games as an “education” piece about Canada for Americans. God knows we need it, too. Watching this video made my heart well up with pride and my eyes with tears for *both* of my countries — the one in which I was born and the one in which I choose to live.

Now do you see why I love Canada? Swoon!

* By which I mean allowed to go crazy and show their passionate pride for their country, something that actually took urging from their Prime Minister!

^ Which I found because it was trending on Twitter.

3 Comments

Filed under Canada

Sexy Cool: The Event

Every once in a while, you get the opportunity to hang out with the cool kids. Count yourself lucky because the iYellow Wine Club Sexy Cool event this Thursday, February 25 at 8pm is one of those times. If you’ve never heard of the iYellow Wine Club, the Toronto -based social wine club with more than 5,000 members, or if you’ve never attended an iYellow event, you don’t know what you’re missing. Think socializing with the in-crowd, shaking what your momma gave you to the tunes of some of Toronto’s hippest DJs, noshing on seriously good apps, and, most importantly, sipping wine you can’t get anywhere else in the city.

Sexy Cool will feature more than 12 delicious Australian wines, so if you’re feeling like you need to take a break from the frozen wasteland that is Toronto to take a quick trip to the Outback, Sexy Cool may be your thing. Just head west to the very hip Edward Day Gallery on Queen Street West at Shaw and witness Toronto bringing sexy back. I can attest that I’ve seen God and it’s in the form of an iYellow Wine Club event.

Note: if you’re planning to drink (which I certainly hope you are), take transit, a cab, or find a designated driver. Period.

Update: within two hours of my post, Sexy Cool sold out. I don’t know that I had anything to do with it, but I’m just saying — SOLD OUT

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, wine