Hi Computer, Meet Fritz (Day 12)

Please enjoy this reenactment of me yelling at my laptop ten minutes ago: okay, what? What?! Work, dammit, work!

My computer has decided to go on the fritz at a most inopportune time, as I’m trying to book airline flights, keep up with NaBloPoMo and generally surf the world wide web. Le sigh. Thank goodness for my being a slave to Steve Jobs, though, as I am so conveniently able to fulfill my NaBloPoMo commitment via my iPhone. 

Not sure what’s going on with my poor laptop, but it started yesterday when I was unable to unmute. Computers on mute aren’t any fun, are they? I mean, how am I supposed to watch my beloved Vimeo videos, listen to Ira Glass, or read listen to my book?  Not to mention, I would guess that this question has been asked previously, but how is it possible that we are able to send people rocketing through orbits and space and atmospheres in a piece of metal at 5,298 mph to walk on the moon, but are unable to build a laptop that lasts longer than 2 1/2 years? A laptop that is neither required to enter any orbits nor atmospheres other than the one in which it lives? Mind-baffling.

Nevertheless, my very exciting posting will have to wait until tomorrow when I am at work get home from work and can McGuyver this bad boy up. Stay tuned.

1 Comment

Filed under Technology

One response to “Hi Computer, Meet Fritz (Day 12)

  1. Oh, no! My laptop is over three years old…it’s about to go anytime! I’d better invest in a new one, stat! Hope you get yours working for your post today!

Leave a Reply

